REVIEW: A Heritage of Death by Alexa Padgett

October 31, 2018Rita
REVIEW: A Heritage of Death by Alexa Padgett

A Heritage of Death
by Alexa Padgett
Series: Reverand Cici Gurule Mystery

An unconventional woman. A brutal murder. To solve the case, one woman will look for help from beyond the grave…
Cici Gurule wants to pretend her dream is nothing more than a meaningless nightmare. But the bruised and bloodied woman looked alarmingly like her. When a baby turns up on her porch--a baby who was reported missing days before--evidence points to a connection with the woman in Cici's dream, and she can no longer ignore the nighttime vision. Cici and Detective Sam Chastain struggle to follow the garbled evidence, but the killer scores his victim first. Worse, a message pinned to the victim's blouse states, "You're next."

Now, it’s a race against the clock to keep the baby safe and find the murderer before his trail goes cold. Cici's only chance to solve this mystery, before she becomes the next victim, means choosing between her faith and believing a message left by her ghostly twin.

A Heritage of Death is the second novel in a compelling female sleuth mystery series for fans of Ruth Ware and Gilly MacMillan. If you like convention-shattering heroines, vivid Southwest settings, and a touch of the paranormal, then you'll love Alexa Padgett's twisty mystery.

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

BUY AT: AMAZON | BARNES & NOBLE | iBOOKS

Goodreads

MY THOUGHTS

It’s been a while since I read a mystery that wasn’t part of the romance genre but I have to say I am so glad that I did. This book intrigued me from the very beginning and I just needed to read it. While this is the second book in the series you do not have to read the first in order to know what is going on. Cici has been having some disturbing dreams  that are being sent to her from her sister….her dead sister. There is plenty of murder and mystery but not so  much or gory in a way that turns you off the book. I was very pleasantly surprised since, as I said this wasn’t my normal genre.

 

Missed A PILGRIMAGE TO DEATH and want to catch up?

 

About A PILGRIMAGE TO DEATH (A Reverend Cici Gurule Mystery Book 1)

When Cici discovers a body in the forest, she’s shocked to realize the victim’s wounds are identical to the ones that killed her sister a year ago. Now she’s embroiled in the takedown of a massive criminal operation, and the stakes couldn’t be higher…

“A wholly absorbing gumshoe tale elevated by an extraordinary detective” (Kirkus Reviews starred review).

Someone murdered her sister. And shot her dog. The killer won’t stop until she’s dead, too.

Cici finds a dead body while hiking in the Santa Fe National Forest. The situation deteriorates when she discovers the victim bears similar stab wounds to those that ended her twin sister’s life a year ago.

Then, her identical twin sister infiltrates her dreams.

All of a sudden, Cici and her dogs must dodge arrows, bullets, and even a demon truck—all while she grapples with the knowledge that her sister was on the trail of a deep-rooted criminal operation. Worse, her twin’s death was much more sinister than a random act of violence.

Now, as she follows the clues her sister drops in her dreams, the criminals want Cici out of the way. Permanently.

A Pilgrimage to Death is a high-octane thriller. Fans of Ruth Ware, J.D. Robb, and Angela Marsons will love Alexa’s Padgett’s new edge-of-your-seat novel.

Add A PILGRIMAGE OF DEATH to your Goodreads list here!

Get your copy of A PILGRIMAGE OF DEATH now!

✦Amazon https://amzn.to/2KJ87fJ
✦iBooks https://apple.co/2ND0Pkb
✦Barnes and Noble http://bit.ly/2NEBKW0
✦Kobo http://bit.ly/2zsi9Q7

7 Comments

  • bn100

    October 31, 2018 at 12:42 pm

    suspenseful sounding book

  • Dana Rodriguez

    November 1, 2018 at 1:54 pm

    I really love mysteries. This sounds like an awesome book!

  • Anita Duvall

    November 2, 2018 at 12:08 pm

    I love any kind of mystery! This one sounds really good to me with just a touch of the other world.

  • Antoinette M

    November 4, 2018 at 3:43 pm

    This sounds like a great mystery. I would like the read the first book, as well.

  • Katy

    November 24, 2018 at 7:31 pm

    This sounds like a very intriguing series and book. Im a sucker for a mystery and i like the storyline of this one. It will be on my list!

  • Calvin

    December 4, 2018 at 5:30 pm

    Spooky book, nice review that dives in it.

  • Dianna

    January 30, 2019 at 9:22 pm

    I love thrillers and suspenseful books, especially when they have a cool element (like the sister sending dream-messages.)

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Previous Post Next Post